Wolfe a 2016 Locus Award Finalist

The 2016 Locus awards finalists were announced yesterday with A Borrowed Man up for best Science Fiction Novel. Wolfe’s book about a clone of a long-dead author will be pitted against four others including Anne Leckie’s novel Ancillary Mercy, which is also up for a Hugo award this year as well. I mention her because she’s a new personal favorite of mine having just read Ancillary Justice at the beginning of the year. If you haven’t had a chance to check out Leckie’s Ancillary Trilogy then definitely add it to your to-read list. I found that her style and intelligence reminded me a lot of Wolfe’s and I hope she continues to have a lot of well-deserved success. She’s also from my hometown of Saint Louis and it’s always exciting to see local talent succeed.

You can find the entire list of talented nominees on the Locus Magazine website.


Grand Master Wolfe

Perhaps for many of us the title of Master was one we always felt Gene deserved, award or not, but it’s nice when these things become official.  I’m a bit off on reporting this, due to some time away from the webs last week (a special thank you to walking pneumonia for keeping me secluded from the rest of the world), but I still wanted to post it here.  

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have named Gene Wolfe the 2012 Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master.  There are a bunch of wonderful quotes and by Wolfe and others on the the SFWA website.  If you’ve missed it for some reason, be sure to read through it.  It’s definitely a most fitting award for Gene’s accomplishments as a writer.




Gene Wolfe A 2009 Locus Award Finalist

Gene Wolfe’s “An Evil Guest” is a finalist for a 2009 Locus Award under the Fantasy Novel category.  Each category contains five finalists and the winners will be announced on June 26-27 at the Science Fiction Awards Weekend in Seattle Washington.

2008 Nebula Award Winners

The winners of the 2008 Nebula Awards were announced yesterday.

Best Novel: Powers by Ursula K. Le Guin
Best Novella: “The Spacetime Pool” by Catherine Asaro
Best Novelette: “Pride and Prometheus” by John Kessel
Best Short Story: “Trophy Wives” by Nina Kiriki Hoffman
Script: WALL-E Screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter
Andre Norton Award: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) by Ysabeau S. Wilce
Solstice Award: Kate Wilhelm, A.J. Budrys and Martin H. Greenberg.
SFWA Service Award: Victoria Strauss
Bradbury Award: Joss Whedon
Grand Master Award: Harry Harrison
Author Emerita: M.J. Engh